pos OPK and trigger 2 days later, say what!

Friday my OPK was nearly pos i would call it pos, Saturday it was definably pos but my doc on Friday wanted me to trigger Saturday night @ 10pm for a 36hour window to IUI on Mon morning at 9am. I am so confused this goes against everything i have researched and been told by my other doctor. Just to cover my bases we did the baby dance on Thursday, and Saturday and i debating on if we should do it today or save up the little egg fertilizers till Monday.

Trigger injection my self sure no problem but the dosage had me all off. Because i had to do the trigger myself last night at 10pm  they gave me the bottle to mix and then inject which was all fine and dandy, until i realized what the nurse giving the instructions said and how you normally mix a bottle. She said take 1ml of the liquid and add it to the powder bottle. OK EXCEPT its a 10ml bottle and if i did that i would be giving myself one strong dose of hcg. So i did what i though was safe and added all the liquid to the bottle and gave myself a 1ml shot of it. I really didn’t want to run the risk of overstimulating myself, worse case i didn’t give myself enough and therefore didn’t trigger. Good news it the bottle doesn’t expire until 60days so one expensive could be three!

Oh the stress this week, i am just on edge this week all the things are aggravating me to the point where i am stress. This isn’t that normal for me, i can normally calm down and build back up to aggravation but not this last week.

The last couple of cycles i have noticed a trend, the day after my LH surge i begin having trouble sleeping. Ii can not stay asleep as long as i would normally even if i am tired. I also tend to toss and turn during the night and have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night.  Strange right, i guess everything is fare game in the journey to pregnancy.

When i saw the RE i brought up the fact that 3DPO i have trouble between breakfast and lunch with my blood sugar plummeting, only for 4days and she recommend that i half my morning metformine. This is good news but i am confused now on which DPO i am because of this wired IUI triggering.

In GOOD news, i had TWO large follicles this cycle. One was measuring right on and the other was slightly smaller (hence the reason she may have wanted to wait to trigger). This is news for me because the last three cycles i have only had one follicle. Even with this news i will be asking to up my Fermar to 5mg, if a next cycle comes. Another bit of good news with how busy i am TTC is not on the for though of my thoughts like it has been for the last year.

Admission of guilt, i have been having coffee the last two week, not that i have been needing it tremendously it has just been helpful with all the business. I feel guilty because i know i should be having it but with that said here are my rationals; i only have a cup a day with sugar free foofy, and i am not in my TTW. So its OK right?

5 thoughts on “pos OPK and trigger 2 days later, say what!

  1. Most doctors will say a cup of coffee a day isn’t bad before or during pregnancy. Have you tried tea??? I have lattes which tend to have less caffeine or even do decaf. I wouldn’t beat yourself up over any of it. Enjoy have fun and baby dust

    • I do love tea, but i only like cold tea. I really only like my coffee cold too. During the summer i was all about having a giant glass of iced green tea but for some reason warm coffee has been calling to me lately. My doctor says I am OK with my caffeine intake too but some of my friends are vary against caffeine around TTC and pregnancy. Some days i remind myself that there are plenty of women who drink soda, coffee and other caffeinated drinks during pregnancy and there babies come out just fine (i don’t like to think this way all the time).

  2. Most doctors will say a cup of coffee a day isn’t bad before or during pregnancy. Have you tried tea??? I have lattes which tend to have less caffeine or even do decaf. I wouldn’t beat yourself up over any of it. Enjoy have fun and baby dust

  3. My RE did IUI between 24-36hrs too. Since it’s so hard to pinpoint the EXACT time of ovulation they said that was best. The egg does live for a little while so it’s not like a complete waste of IUI. GOOD LUCK!

    • Thanks, i have also know the sperm is said to stay alive for up to 72 hours. I guess i just though it was so strange, but you never know this could be the thing that i have been missing this hole time=)

Leave a Reply

